Driver training rules in Kentucky
What Kentucky requires of driving schools, CDL training and school bus drivers, with every fact linked to its official source.

✓ Checked against official sources · 2026-10-18
Driver training rules in Kentucky for teen and adult driver's education, CDL schools, carriers that train their own drivers and school bus drivers, each with a link to the official source. Federal ELDT rules (49 CFR Part 380) apply in every state on top of these.
| Driver education (teens) | Required under 18: permit applicants must enroll in school-district driver ed, a licensed driving school, or state traffic school; a class contains at least 4 hours of highway safety training. Behind-the-wheel hours not stated.source 1 · source 2 |
|---|---|
| Supervised practice (teens) | 60 hours supervised driving, 10 at night, with a licensed adult 21+. Permit held at least 180 days.source 3 |
| New adult drivers | No course stated for adults. Ages 18-20 must hold permit 180 days; 21+ hold permit 30 days.source 4 |
| Who licenses driving schools | Kentucky State Police licenses driver training schools; instructors apply to the KSP Drivers Testing Branch.source 5 · source 6 · source 7 · source 2 |
| CDL training: state rules beyond federal ELDT | Licensed CDL schools follow the state General Curriculum Standards. ELDT-only providers are exempt and follow 49 CFR 380 instead. State hours not verified.source 8 · source 9 |
| CDL schools: state license | Yes. A fee-charging CDL driver training school needs a Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education license. Providers limited solely to federal ELDT are exempt (KRS 165A.310, .460, .470).source 10 · source 11 · source 9 |
| CDL schools: state hours or curriculum | Licensed CDL schools must offer at least 160 hours to students never issued a CDL and follow the state General Curriculum Standards. ELDT-only providers exempt.source 12 · source 8 · source 9 |
| CDL schools: instructor rules | Yes. Instructors need a Commission CDL instructor license: age 21+, high school or equivalent (or equivalent experience), a valid operator's license, and a state and national background check (KRS 165A.465, .470, .475). Skills (range and street) instructors also need a Class A CDL, at least 2 years of verifiable over-the-road CMV driving, and passing KSP written and skills exams (791 KAR 1:070). ELDT-only providers are exempt (KRS 165A.460).source 10 · source 13 · source 14 · source 15 · source 9 |
| Carriers training their own drivers: license | Exempt if free. Employer courses for its own employees without charge are not proprietary schools, and the CDL school sections do not apply to employers instructing employees free.source 11 · source 16 |
| Carriers: hours or curriculum | The 160-hour rule binds CDL driver training schools as defined in KRS 165A.310 (fee or tuition charged). A carrier training its own employees free is outside it; federal ELDT applies.source 12 · source 11 · source 16 |
| Carriers: instructor rules | Instructor licensing applies to instructors of licensed CDL schools. Free in-house employer training is exempt from the chapter, so carrier trainers need only federal 380.605 qualifications.source 10 · source 16 |
| New school bus drivers | 21-hour initial training course plus follow-up reviews per the Kentucky School Bus Driver Trainer Manual. Classroom/BTW split not stated.source 17 |
| School bus refresher | 8-hour district update training before each school year. Missing it means redoing the 21-hour course.source 17 |
Driving manuals and handbooks
Official publications from Kentucky, checked 2026-10-19. Read them here or download them; the state's own copy is always linked.
Driver's manualKentucky Driver Manual
KYTC Graduated Driver's License: A Parent's Guide for First Time Drivers
Commercial (CDL)Commercial Driver's License Manual
Motorcycle and mopedKentucky Motorcycle Operators Manual
Driving jobs in Kentucky
Rules change. Always confirm with the state agency before you rely on a rule. Something out of date? Email terry@eldt.courses.
Federal rules in every state
CDL entry-level driver training must come from a provider listed on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry, for a first Class A or B CDL, an upgrade to Class A or B, or a first P, S or H endorsement (49 CFR 380.609). See ELDT record keeping under 49 CFR 380.
Sources
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55913
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/601/013/110.pdf
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55914
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55912
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=31830
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=31817
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/502/010/030.pdf
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/791/001/040.pdf
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=52160
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=40326
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=57597
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=40338
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=47787
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=40325
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/791/001/070.pdf
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=4670
- https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/702/005/080.pdf
