Training records for CDL schools, driver's ed, school bus, transit, fleets, EMS and police School sign-in 1-814-304-7635
State rules

Driver training rules in Washington

What Washington requires of driving schools, CDL training and school bus drivers, with every fact linked to its official source.

✓ Checked against official sources · 2026-10-18

Driver training rules in Washington for teen and adult driver's education, CDL schools, carriers that train their own drivers and school bus drivers, each with a link to the official source. Federal ELDT rules (49 CFR Part 380) apply in every state on top of these.

Driver education (teens)Required to get a license before 18: course of 30 hours classroom + 6 hours behind-the-wheel (out-of-state courses OK if they meet this). First-time applicants under 25 must also pass a free online work zone and first responder course. The law starts it May 1, 2026, with a DOL waiver while the course is not available. DOL requires it for first licenses issued on or after Nov 1, 2026 (RCW 46.20.100, 46.20.1191(3)).source 1 · source 2 · source 3 · source 4
Supervised practice (teens)50 hours (40 day + 10 night) with a driver licensed 3+ years; hold learner permit at least 6 months.source 1
New adult driversApplies with limits. First-time applicants under 25 must pass a free online work zone and first responder course. The law starts it May 1, 2026, with a DOL waiver while the course is not available. DOL requires it for first licenses issued on or after Nov 1, 2026. Driver ed for adults phases in: age 18 from Jan 1, 2027, one more age each year, up to under 22 from Jan 1, 2030 (RCW 46.20.1191; 2025 c 299).source 4 · source 3
Who licenses driving schoolsDepartment of Licensing licenses driver training schools (automobiles) and instructors (RCW 46.82).source 5 · source 6
CDL training: state rules beyond federal ELDTYes. State minimum course (WAC 308-100-033): 40 hours classroom, 18 street, 16 backing, 16 proficiency, 70 lab/range/observation.source 7 · source 8
CDL schools: state licenseYes. Department of Licensing must approve the course (WAC 308-100-033) and private vocational schools need a Workforce Board license (RCW 28C.10.060).source 7 · source 9
CDL schools: state hours or curriculumYes. DOL-approved course minimums (WAC 308-100-033): Class A 40 hours classroom, 18 street, 16 backing, 16 proficiency, 70 lab/range/observation. Class B or C 40 classroom, 14 street, 8 backing, 8 proficiency, 10 lab/range/observation. All parts within one year of starting.source 7
CDL schools: instructor rulesNo DOL CDL instructor license. Workforce Board rules require faculty with industry certification where available and 2 years' relevant education or work experience.source 10
Carriers training their own drivers: licenseNot settled. A CDL applicant may be certified by an employer instead of finishing a DOL-approved course (RCW 46.25.060). The vocational school law does not cover free education not promoted as leading to credentials (RCW 28C.10.030(3)); whether free carrier CDL training fits that is not stated.source 8 · source 11
Carriers: hours or curriculumState course hours attach to DOL-approved courses; an employer-certified driver is not held to them by state law; federal ELDT still applies.source 8 · source 7
Carriers: instructor rulesNot settled. Workforce Board faculty rules apply to licensed private vocational schools; whether free carrier CDL training is outside that law (RCW 28C.10.030(3)) is not stated. Federal 49 CFR 380.605/380.713 instructor rules apply.source 11
New school bus driversOSPI school bus driver training course, taught or overseen by an authorized instructor, required for OSPI authorization; hours not stated in WAC.source 12 · source 7
School bus refresherAnnual training Aug 1-Oct 31; OSPI sets content and minimum time each year.source 12

Driving manuals and handbooks

Official publications from Washington, checked 2026-10-19. Read them here or download them; the state's own copy is always linked.

Driver's manual

Washington Driver Guide

Washington State Department of Licensing · 520-400 (R/4/25) · 191 pages

Cover of Commercial Driver Guide (Washington State and AAMVA Guidelines)Commercial (CDL)

Commercial Driver Guide (Washington State and AAMVA Guidelines)

Washington State Department of Licensing · 171 pages

Open on the state siteOpens on the state's site.
Cover of Supplement Only CDL Driver's Manual (supplemental CDL guide)Commercial (CDL)

Supplement Only CDL Driver's Manual (supplemental CDL guide)

AAMVA, posted by Washington State Department of Licensing · Version: September 9, 2022 · 24 pages

Open on the state siteCopyright American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA), so it opens on the state's site.
School bus

School Bus Driver Handbook

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) · Revised March 2019 · 67 pages

Motorcycle and moped

Motorcycle Operator Manual, Two- and Three-Wheel

Washington State Department of Licensing · 520-407 (R/12/21) · 74 pages

Driving schools and instructors

Driver Training School Policies and Procedures Handbook

Washington State Department of Licensing · Revised 2025-04 · 39 pages

Driving schools and instructors

Washington Traffic Safety Education Required Curriculum Standards

Washington State Department of Licensing and Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction · 2025 · 41 pages

Other driving guides

Washington State Commercial Vehicle Guide (M 30-39.10)

Washington State Department of Transportation, Washington State Patrol, Washington State Department of Licensing, Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission · M 30-39.10, July 2025 · 92 pages

Driving jobs in Washington

40,530heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers employed (May 2025)
$64,760median yearly pay (May 2025)
4,280projected openings each year, 2024 to 2034
4.1%projected job growth, 2024 to 2034

Rules change. Always confirm with the state agency before you rely on a rule. Something out of date? Email terry@eldt.courses.

Federal rules in every state

CDL entry-level driver training must come from a provider listed on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry, for a first Class A or B CDL, an upgrade to Class A or B, or a first P, S or H endorsement (49 CFR 380.609). See ELDT record keeping under 49 CFR 380.

Sources

  1. https://dol.wa.gov/driver-licenses-and-permits/get-your-first-license-or-permit/driver-license-application-ages-16-17
  2. https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.20.100
  3. https://dol.wa.gov/driver-licenses-and-permits/driver-training-and-testing/work-zone-and-first-responder-course
  4. https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.20.1191
  5. https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.82.280
  6. https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.82.320
  7. https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=308-100-033
  8. https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.25.060
  9. https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28C.10.060
  10. https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=490-105&full=true
  11. https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=28C.10.030
  12. https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=392-144&full=true

See all states